Gossip & Gists: D’Banj Says He’s Not Single!

Bad news for the ladies; D’Banj, the superstar entertainer who’s fond of boasting about his sexual prowess is off the market.

Dbanj-performing-in-London-600x399Shocking, right? Especially coming barely weeks after he released a new single titled ‘Bachelor‘.

Dapo Oyebanjo has come out to say anyone expecting him to be single at this stage, must be joking. The hit-maker told E! 365 at the Tymeout With Tee A concert on December 1, that he’s definitely ‘occupied,’ to the disbelief of several prospects.

‘Even when I tell them I’m single’, they don’t believe. So these days, I tell them what they want to hear. I mean look at me, at my state, would you expect that I won’t be seeing anyone?‘ He asked in rhetoric.

Linked to many women in the past, D’Banj is one of Nigeria’s most eligible bachelors. Those close to him tell us what he said at Tee A‘s event is ‘definitely not far from the truth.’

‘Of course he’s dating. He’s a successful young man with many ladies interested in him. And he’s definitely dating. So it’s right if he says he’s not single. What no one knows is how serious these things are. And for sure, I can tell you that there are no wedding plans anywhere yet‘, one insider squealed to E! 365 over the weekend.

Now 31, D’Banj sits comfortably in the millionaires club, and with coming projects already revealed, it’s certain he’ll continue to play in the league for some time.

And no – he didn’t mention names. He didn’t talk about Genevieve either. In fact he was delighted when interviewer Tee A dropped the Genevieve question and moved on to other things…

Gossip & Gists: Wizkid Joins Millionaires’ Club At 21

Sources who are privy to the young singer’s revenue told us, this week, that he has now joined the league of music millionaires.

wizkid-328x460With a schedule that keeps him busy all week; and enquiries from all over the globe, Wizkid is currently one of the top 5 most wanted pop stars (others on the list include 2face Idibia, D’banj and Psquare) . And from an engagement fee of N500-700,000, his management has now upped his fee to a minimum of N1.5M. Big budget clients could be asked for up to N2M and N3M in some cases.

There are some weekends when he plays up to three shows. The boy is mad busy and his minders are making the best out of the boom’, a top industry source tells us.

Wizkid is putting his money into use too, the 21-year-old recently acquired aVW Convertible worth N6M (Six million Naira). He has also embarked on shooting big budget videos; starting with the trado-themed shoot for ‘Pakurumo’ on Tuesday November 1, the video was directed by Clarence Peters.

Monthly earnings, we’re told, now sits in the realm of 20M and upwards. And it can only get better; with a MOBO plaque and Headie in his pouch, and a hit-filled debut album that’s still moving units, the EME act seems poised for a bright future – if he and his minders are smart enough not to let celebrity trouble and scandals ruin it all…

Interviews & Hype: “I Will Probably Retire At Cool FM” – Freeze Opens Up About His Life And Career

After a few years spent in the University of Ibadan studying Computer science and Sociology, Ifeoluwa Olarinde has become a voice to be reckoned with among his contemporaries, and is one of Cool FM’s longest serving OAPs.

In this interview with E! 365, ‘Daddy Freeze’ as he is fondly called, reveals the many troubles he went through before becoming who he is today.

Cool-FMs-Freeze-What are your experiences while growing up?

I grew up a bit in Romania, I am half-Transylvanian and half Nigerian. I tell people there are two different sides to my coin, the Nigerian and European side, but most people only see the Nigerian side of me. Whether they like it or not, I’m European, and that is an important part of my life. I wouldn’t say I had the best of both worlds, but I enjoyed it. I grew up mainly in Ibadan, Oyo state in Nigeria. I was about four years old when I first came back, and regular travels took me out of the country, but most of the time I was in Nigeria.

What was the experience coming all the way from Europe to come live in Ibadan, Nigeria?

It took me a while to adjust. First I started with illness; I was constantly falling [so] sick that it got to a point they thought I was going to die, but eventually I [was fine]. The next challenge was how to adjust to the Nigerian way of doing things but although I was born in Europe, I’m more Nigerian in my ways. I remember when I was trying to get into university in Europe, I couldn’t really blend. I was too Nigerian, I was the kind of guy that wouldn’t go to class but [would instead] get someone to sign in for me and go and do the tests and exams, but all those things didn’t work over there. The only problem I had with Nigeria was that the basics don’t work; Nigeria is a beautiful place, I don’t see myself living anywhere else because I like the Nigerian mentality. A Nigerian man will have ten million naira and go and buy a car worth eleven million Naira, borrowing one million. Inside the hustle there is always a smile, whereas, Europeans are mourning groaning people, they complain a lot and expect the government to do everything.

Tell us about your parents

My parents are great people, they made growing up fun. My mom is European, my dad is Nigerian and I have three siblings. The first two were born over there and the last two were born here, in Nigeria.

What is your educational background?

I attended Maryhill Convent School in Ibadan for my primary education and moved on to International School Ibadan, and then the University of Ibadan, so basically, I went through it all in Ibadan.

You decided to study sociology. What is the link between sociology and your job right now?

Initially I was one of those who vehemently opposed education. I believed it was just a waste of time. Nobody wants to be educated to add value to themselves or their society, only a very few people, especially in Africa. Abroad, people follow their passion and choose their education in their chosen fields. My parents are educationists. My father is a doctor and my mom, a provost of a college of law. It was really hard then to prove my point. I wanted to be an entertainer right from when I was young, but my parents said ‘if you are not going to school then you will have to learn a trade’ which I didn’t want, but they couldn’t understand me. They thought I was sick and retarded and even took me for an IQ test and I was certified super smart; [then] they thought it was possession, we went through that one again. I am sure they still believe that there was some level of possession, or some family members in the village must be doing [something to] me, but I believe that everyone is cut out to be different; I can be the best me, but I can only be an average you. That is really important. I got into sociology because I just wanted to get a degree so my parents would allow me do what I wanted to do.

When I was 19 years old, I got a job at a local radio station in Ibadan. My mum encouraged me but my dad didn’t really understand what I was doing. At the end of the day I went in to study computer science, but I couldn’t cope because I was never in class. I failed all my courses and couldn’t proceed to the next level. Then I had two options; resit 200 level or change my course. I did and I loved the [sociology] courses even more than computer. With sociology, it was less difficult, but I still graduated with a nice 2.2 second class lower in 2001. School was a hustle and I have promised that I would never bother God about it anymore.

Seeing what you have become, has your opinion changed about education?

Even when I was in computer science I added value to myself, and a lot more studying sociology. It made me understand how things are done from a scientific point of view, especially with regard to people. Education is something I believe in, but the problem I have is with the manner that it is being given in Nigeria, which I would say it is wrong, I totally have no belief in the Nigerian education. I believe that most children are not discovered, they are pushed into fields in which they won’t be comfortable and be able to excel, simply because we don’t have a proper educational system that can discover a person’s potential, talents, and abilities. There are a few success stories here and there, but [if] six PhD holders and Master degree holders could apply as a driver to Dangote’s company then our educational system has failed.

What kind of entertainer would you have become had your parents allowed you then?

I wanted to be a rapper; I have always seen myself on stage entertaining people. I felt it was something that came naturally to me. I started entertainment when there was no money, so the people now are the ones enjoying, we built the industry for them. When we started, it was rough. We had to pay a lot of dues, a lot more than what people are paying now. I started at 19 as a rapper, but it was pretty hard back then. I couldn’t continue with my rap and then I moved on to broadcasting.

Tell us how your journey into radio began.

I was in Romania for two months, doing nothing. I have a cousin called Gina, and one day she came to my place and asked if I could help with a 15 minute show she [used to] do on the radio, called Radio Galaxia. One of the officials there got interested in me and told me they had been looking for people to read stuff. Throughout my stay, I did that in Romania and when I returned to Nigeria, I was interested in continuing. It sounded okay to my mum, [so] I auditioned for and got a job with Broadcasting Corporation of Oyo State (BCOS) and I was with them for 5 years. As I was rounding off school, I came to COOL FM and got a job with them. I resigned from BCOS and that’s how it has been.

And so far, how has your experience with Cool FM been for the past 11 years?

It’s been good. We all practically built Cool FM; I started when the station was 3 years old. I was part of the building process and the station also built me. My bosses were wonderful people; with my behaviour they should have been much harsher with me. I can’t believe I have worked here and I have never been suspended once. I have been shouted at a couple of time, [and] they might have actually had some money deducted from my salary, but I know I deserve more punishment than I have gotten considering the kind of person that I am. Cool FM has been wonderful to me, they are my family. I’m probably the longest serving broadcaster in the company. A lot of people who stayed have left after seven or eight years. Nobody has stayed 10 and I have stayed 11, I guess that’s why they are lenient with me. It’s been quite a journey and Cool FM is my brand.

And when do you plan to leave?

Well, there’s time for everything. Others have left because they wanted to, and thank God they are all doing fine, but as for me, I am not considering leaving soon. I will probably retire with Cool FM.

When you say retire, do you mean hands off completely?

Is that possible? Broadcasting is something I think I am going to do for a long time. You put me in front of the microphone and I talk. Broadcasting is not a job but a way of life. No matter how old I am, I will still wanna play music, make fun of people, gossip. I don’t think it is something I want to stop.

You have spent a total of 16 years of your life as a broadcaster. What is next?

I take every day as it comes. I am not the kind of person that plans. Some people are very good with plans because it works for them, I just work with what I have and I thank God that I can wake up every morning. I just want to be happy. I hate stress. I just like a laid back life, but [even though] I’m laid back, I also still want to make money, because I like the good things of life. I’m like a woman, I like things that shine. Sometimes it’s just about the money because I like the good things of life. 

Share with us some challenges you face as a Nigerian broadcaster in the 21st century.

It’s been rough. I am a different kind of brand. Broadcasting [rules] may say you shouldn’t have an opinion, and [I think] if you don’t want an opinion then get a robot; as long as I’m human I will always have an opinion, it gets me into a lot of trouble with so many people because I am not expected to have an opinion. I do not succumb with broadcasting without opinions. I also have a problem with traditional Nigerian broadcasting rules and ethics, they are a bit harsh and unreasonable, but apart from that everything else is okay.

What will you say are things necessary for a successful broadcaster?

Firstly, you need to be lucky. In my opinion, life is 10 percent skills, 10 percent talent and 80 per cent luck. When I got my job at Cool FM, the very first assignment I was given was to compile all the auditions of people that wanted to get the job. I listened to them and I don’t think I was as good as half of them, I was just lucky to get the job. I was blessed, and of course, there is a God factor involved. You need to have a good voice with good diction and must be able to speak good English or pidgin, depending on the station. Skills, Talent and God and you are on your way to success.

Speaking of which, you have spent 16 years of your life as a broadcaster. Would you consider yourself as successful?

I think I am and that’s because I wake up at 11 O’clock every morning, and since I was a child, I hated waking up early, now if I can still wake up at that time and still be able to feed my family, I believe I am successful. I could be making a lot more money, but I can pay my basics and survive. Success is a funny word. Some are successful in business but failures at marriage. It depends on how you see yourself. I do believe I am, primarily because of the reason I just gave.

You have your hands in TV, radio and MC-ing, which of these do you feel most comfortable with?

Trust me, I enjoy all, but which makes me the whole money, I really can’t tell. I know it’s not TV, it’s most likely MCing, working with brands, then secondly radio. TV is the least when it comes to making money, maybe because I don’t have many shows on TV.

You mentioned your wife was your class mate. Can you tell us a little about her?

I try to shy away about talking about my family. I have a beautiful wife, she is wonderful, beautiful and intelligent, we don’t fight much, I take her out, but I keep talking about her very minimal. I am one of those people who gets a lot of bashing from the public, so I don’t want to join her in it, they should just leave her for me, she’s my darling.

Why do you think people bash you a lot?

I bash them a lot too so I expect them to bash, and I don’t care. The problem is that the people around me don’t have the crocodile skin that I have, because if it hits me and bounces off, it hits them and they feel it, so I would rather prefer everything just be about me.

Talking about bashing which of the bashes has ever hit you?

It never hits me. I cannot be bothered. When my radio station asked everyone to [join] twitter, I [told them] ‘if they talk, me I will talk my own back and when I talk it will cause problems.’ Of course, they put me on twitter, and once in a while when somebody says something stupid, I have an answer for every fool.

What about the feud between you and Don Jazzy?

There is nothing going on between Jazzy and I, I think they should interview him too. He is my person, we have come a long way and we communicate well; I’m close to most people in the entertainment industry, I knew Jazzy from when D’banj introduced me to him in 2004-2005, we never had a problem, it was just a frenzy thing, the more you look, the less you see.

You seem to be a very fashionable person. What’s your take on fashion in Nigeria?

There are two ways to look at fashion; there is of course the classy fashion and the ghetto fashion, and there’s been a lot of ghetto fashion around in Nigeria. It might look trendy but it’s still not classy, which is my problem with Nigerians. I can do crazy things but I have limits; for instance, you will never catch me in a pair of pink or red pants. There are some things I wouldn’t do. Like I said, I can go borderline, when it comes to sunglasses, I opt for the female sunglasses because they are more blinged out and larger. This is because I have a big face and I need a big pair to do justice to my face. Again, I could also do a female belt. That’s the farthest I can go; no colour clashes, no colour riots.

Music: Hit Single, Zealhanks Out With DREAM

Just like a king without a queen, love without devotion and prayers without an answers, the microphone is incomplete without Zealhanks.

zeal DreamZealhanks is a promising artiste, prolific songwriter, vocalist, instrumentalist, lyricist, model is endowed with a mind blowing vocal strength that the Nigerian Entertainment Industry should watch out for.

Haven killed so many concerts and events,  here is his hit single DREAM; a deep reflection of faithfulness in a relationship, DREAM is all you need to get back on  your feet, Zealhanks is rated to next revolution in the Entertainment World.

 

DOWNLOAD

Gossip & Gists: Meet 2-Top Malaysian Bosses

Below are the 2-Top Malaysian Bosses of the century, Kay Banty of Ringgit Boss and Pocker Dhot of Lay Low Crew.
378945_557623280920159_1099067655_n
I appreciate sincerity and decency in people. Once I am your friend, you will realize that I am loyal and reliable to be trusted, I can be spontaneous, too.

Kay Banty, CEO Ringgit Boss (Malaysia)

CONTACT
259976_377342075687667_1454676175_n
I am me, no affiliate, no photocopy, no copyright, I might be stubborn maybe because I am independent but deep inside, I am just a simple and easy going one protecting my dignity.

Pocker Dhot, CEO Lay Low Crew (Malaysia)

CONTACT

Gossip & Gists: Tonto Dikeh Dazzles In Her First Public Performance

Finally, those who were itching to see Tonto Dikeh, perform on stage, were given a brief glimpse of her stage craft recently.

TontoAt the launch of his second album, ‘@IAMKASBEATS’ on December 1, pop artiste Kas, brought up the actress-turned-singer to the stage and they performed their collabo, ‘Sexy Whine’.

Kas paused in the middle of his solo performance to ask the audience, if they would like to see the Nollywood star. The response was overwhelming and he came into the crowd and dragged her to the stage amidst cheers.

Events: Birthday Special Edition, Tonight On City 105.1 FM

kshowKeji Sowoolu aka K. Show Da Maestro is an On-Air-Personality at City 105.1 FM, Rap Veteran, Writer, Entertainer and NBMA Nominee is set to party hard, live on radio as he invited everyone via BBM Broadcast Message, in written:

Today’s my birthday, and if u get dis I consider u my person and ure invited 2 cum party wit me live on air dis evening for a ‘birthday special’ edition of my show on city fm 105.1, bring your f***kin vodka pls, I dnt hv money as I’m saving for a private jet, oyedepo.

You all are hereby invited to come feel the groove live on City 105.1 FM, starting from 09:00PM – 01:00AM.

Interviews & Hype: Nothing Can Make Me Act Nude – Ndidi Obi

Like a thunderbolt from nowhere, Ndidi Obi became a celebrity after playing Nneka, in the movie Pretty Serpent. In this interview with IFECHI OKOH, she speaks on how the flick changed her fortunes and sexual harassment in Nollywood among other issues. Enjoy:

NdidiWhat’s your background like?

My name is Ndidi Obi. I come from Akama Oghe, in Ezeagu Local Government Area (LGA) of Enugu State. I am the second child and first daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Wilfred Obi. I attended St. Theresa’s Primary School, Enugu, Marine Beach Secondary School, Apapa – Lagos. I had my university education in Enugu and University of Lagos (UNILAG) where I graduated in Banking and Finance.

What was your childhood fantasy and why?

From the onset, Ndidi Obi had always loved to be in the limelight. When I was in the primary school, I took part in concerts. Since then, I have developed interest in related social activities like beauty pageant, acting and dancing competition. My craving to be in the limelight dates back to my primary school days. It may interest you or anybody to know and note that I began my acting career from modeling. When I was young, I loved anything that was tilted towards entertainment, fashion and anything along these lines. Luckily for me and my brothers, my mother does not joke with our clothing. She was there for us as we were growing. There has been nothing I did without having entertainment at the back of my mind. It has been the case and will remain so. When I was young, I loved music and musicians, especially the top foreign stars like late Michael Jackson.

Is what you are doing today a fulfillment of your childhood fantasy?

Oh yes! A sort of!!

Before The Pretty Serpent, what were you into?

Before Nneka, the Pretty Serpent, I had been into modeling and surviving well on it. I started this while in school combining it effectively with the demands of schooling. I continued during my university days. I did a lot of modeling for calendars and television. Till date, I am still neck deep into it.

Did The Pretty Serpent which gave you the face and position in Nollywood boost your business after the production?

Oh yes! Naturally it did because after Nneka, the pretty serpent, anywhere I went people started to link me with the character Nneka, the pretty serpent. This, as a result brought me into focus, especially in the modeling industry. Somehow, it actually gave me more jobs.

Was sexual harassment rampant in Nollywood when you took part in The pretty serpent?

Sexual harassment then? I started hearing of it years after I had shot Nneka, the pretty serpent. It was either you are suitable for a part or not. We were all working on merit. Even if you have been selected as a member of the cast for a week or two ago and you have just been discovered not to be good enough, you will be replaced. I mean there was nothing you got then through sexual relationship or union. Before you join the cast for any production, you must be thoroughly auditioned by committed professional directors who cannot substitute anything for professionalism. It was interesting and impressive. I started hearing and reading about sexual harassment after I did Nneka. Since then too, I have been reading about it. I never experienced it or heard anybody mention my name in connection with one illicit affair or another.

What do you suggest should be done to those allegedly involved, investigated and found guilty?

I want to sound it here that anybody in this Nollywood business is no longer a kid. I must confess that I don’t know if anybody is involved. Anyone who is old enough to come into Nollywood is not a child anymore and as such he or she should know what is good enough for him or her. If someone is approaching you sexually to give you a role, it is left for you to embrace or shun such approach because at the level you are, you are supposed to know what is good for you; I mean what you want in life without thinking or asking for immediate gains or otherwise. I am sure nobody has a right to compel any lady to go into sexual relationship before she is given a role. If there is any case or otherwise, I believe both parties are old enough to know what they stand to gain by concurring to go into sexual union of any sort. After all, they are adults who could choose to consent, especially if such action pays them at that point in time.

What qualities do you go for in a man?

Qualities I go for in a man are personal things. But generally, I go for a God fearing man. He must also have a good heart. This is against the backdrop that women are naturally the softer gender and this should be shown and appreciated by every man who has the quality I expect in a man, although, these should be complimented by good looks. But qualities, I strongly believe should go beyond good looks of a man.

What part of your body do you honestly see as the sexiest and why?

There is no special place. Every part of my body is beautiful and sexy. They all have their functions in their own way. I see every part of my body as pretty. I mean from the crown of my head to the sole of my feet. This is so because it is natural that not everybody looking at my body looks at it from one perspective. It is certain that not everybody who sees my face will go for it. The same for other parts of my body; some will jump at my hip; others would go for my buttocks, etc. However, one thing is clear; they all belong to Ndidi Obi, making her the complete piece of God’s careful creation.

How do you take the expressed infatuation of fans which most times tend to be embarrassing?

Of course yes. They have done that to me in different ways and at different times too. These are spontaneous reactions of my fans that love me and are perhaps swept off their feet on sighting me physically. Each time, they usually ask me for a photograph, handshake, phone number, etc. I consider myself lucky as a result of being appreciated by them. If they don’t talk about you, nobody knows or appreciates you. After all, there are a thousand and one other women on the street, walking alone and nobody gives a damn about them. This simply shows you are not making any impact. Without these fans, there will be no showbiz celebrities. They are your gauge confirming that you have actually touched lives. Without them, honestly, you are nobody as the mega star you thought you are.

What can lure you into acting nude?

There is nothing on earth that can lure me to acting nude. To start with, it is debasing to womanhood and moreover, it is un-African. I strongly believe that there is no self respecting woman that can accept such role no matter how alluring the money attached to it may be.

What is the headache of being famous?

The usual and initial constraint of self denials as a result of being famous. You can’t be seen in certain places to avoid sending the wrong signals. For instance, joining public transport or eating in a roadside canteen, etc. It is disturbing and a pity too that only the famous in the society are made to pay such expensive price.

What’s your advice to persons aspiring to be actors and actresses?

First and foremost, they should be genuinely interested in theatre and dramatic arts. That is, anything that has to do with acting, production and directing. They should submit themselves to learning with a view to becoming a consummate theatre practitioner through the formal or informal acquisition of the knowledge. They should also take time to choose their role models because the result of a wrong choice may not be funny. Above all, they should be hardworking, humble and submissive to those packaging them for their future career. It could be during on-the-job training or in the university.

Gossip & Gists: Lagos Big Girl, Seki Williams Takes to Prostitution

A famous Lagos socialite, Sekinat Williams has taken to prostitution.

SekiSekinat, who is frequently seen among Lagos party rockers, is said to have resorted to prostitution due to hard times. Sekinat, in her late forties, was deported from the United States in 2004 for an unspecified criminal activity.

Those in the know claimed that though she had always lived off friends like Tope Doherty who has since parted ways with her, Sekinat is said to be unashamed of being a loafer.

Sekinat, now, shorn of her showy lifestyle, merely lives from hand to mouth. Her situation degenerated when most of her benefactors deserted her, hence her decision to start a prostitution ring.

Insiders claimed that Sekinat, as leader, also recruits some other younger ladies for the act. The source hinted that the desperate Sekinat had turned her residence in Ikeja to an improvised brothel for the sexual convenience of their male patrons. Sekinat’s problem is presently worsened by difficulty to pay her house rent, as her landlady has continued to threaten her with eviction.

Moreover, Sekinat is most sighted around Joel Ogunaike and Isaac John areas of Ikeja, where she hustles her patron. The concern of those who claimed to know about her new trade is her desperation to go to bed for few wads of Naira notes. “It is so terrible that with N3000 or N5000, any man can sleep with her.”

Another source said that Sekinat is noted for fighting dirty and shamelessly, mostly in issues she is not directly affected. Her misbehavior and meddlesomeness was said to have caused one of her friend’s boyfriend to smash her head sometime back with a bottle. The shameful lifestyle has also affected her relationship with her daughter, leading to no love lost between mother and child, with the latter leaving outside of her mother’s Ikeja home.

Gossip & Gists: Yvonne Nelson Indiscipline Abuses Media

Sometimes I am forced to believe that Ghanaian Actress Yvonne Indiscipline Nelson might be having a mental problem as to how she behaves toward the media and the public.

While no one is asking Yvonne Indiscipline Nelson to have a good relationship with the media she could show some courtesy, anytime she sees the Media.

Yvonne-Nelson-Nollywoodgossip-Celeb-Of-The-Week600We happened to visit Venus films set this weekend to see how the progress of the shoot was going without the likes of John Dumelo, Majid Michel, Jackie Appiah and a regular director Frank Rajah.

Although things where going on well with the great comeback of Yvonne Nelson and Yvonne Okoro with excellent performances, when the media came on set they were greeted with courtesy by other actors and crew members yet, unfortunately Yvonne Indiscipline Nelson happened to be the only actress who responded in an abusive way.

Some of the responses she forwarded to the media sources could not be printed here. We at E! 365 will be happy if she finds a book to teach her some manners and etiquette for women.